Gravel Grinder News: Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame Nomination Period is Open

Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame

Gravel Grinder News: Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame Nomination Period is Open – by MG

Nomination period closes December 1, 2023

The Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame (GCHOF) is excited to announce the opening of nominations to the public for the next class of inductees. Starting November 1st, 2023, through December 1st, 2023, the cycling community is invited to submit nominations for individuals who have made significant contributions to the world of gravel cycling.

According to GCHOF Founding Board Member, Lelan Dains, the mission of Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame is recognize the people that have influenced the trajectory of gravel cycling.

“Gravel cycling has experienced remarkable growth over the years, and it’s crucial to recognize, honor, and remember those who have played a pivotal role in shaping the sport,” Dains said. “We have had the honor of inducting some incredible individuals who have made a significant impact on the sport of Gravel Cycling, and we look forward to recognizing the 2024 class of the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame.”

Jason Strohbehn, current director of the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame, said the nomination process is an opportunity for the public to recognize the influential people and experiences that have made their gravel cycling journey special.

“The Hall of Fame is a celebration of the passion, dedication, and achievements of individuals in the gravel cycling community,” Strohbehn said. “We look forward to receiving nominations from across the globe, showcasing the diverse talents and contributions of leaders in the gravel cycling world.”

2024 nominees will be considered to join the 11 current inductees into the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame. The 2023 inductees were: Alison Tetrick (Athlete, Storyteller), Yuri Hauswald (Athlete, Storyteller), Miguel Crawford (Promoter), Joel Dyke (Promoter). 

Nominations for 2024 induction into the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame can be submitted through the GCHOF website: The nomination period closes on December 1st, 2023.

Once the nomination submission period is closed, a panel of more than 50 electors made up of current GCHOF Inductees, the GCHOF Board, athletes, promoters, industry media, and gravel cycling enthusiasts, will vote on the class of 2024. Inductees will be announced in early 2024 and the induction ceremony for the new class of honorees will take place on Wednesday, May 31 in Emporia, KS to kick off the 2024 Unbound Gravel week. 


Author: MG

Matt Gersib is the 2014 Gravel World Champion in the Fatbike category. He's also finished some of the most challenging gravel events in the country, including the Dirty Kanza XL, TransIowa and the Dirty Kanza 200, among others. In 2015, Gersib was an inaugural inductee into the DK200 "1,000 mile club" of five-time finishers. In addition to his gravel cycling, Gersib is an accomplished mountain bike racer, with numerous race wins and championships, including the 2012 Nebraska State Marathon MTB Championship.

Related Articles

2 thoughts on “Gravel Grinder News: Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame Nomination Period is Open

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.